Mangrove Jacks Bavarian Wheat 1st try

Help Support The HomeBrew Forum:

gtm

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie in Homebrewing and i am doing my first try with a bavarian Wheat of Mangrove Jacks. I have done whole the process correct i believe and i want to ask some questions.
I am in 13th day of fermentation. I still have bubbles (1 every 10 minutes).
Are the bubbles a criterion for the completion of the fermentation?
Is this the time to take a SG reading in order to check if i am in the desired one? If i am not mistaken the SG reading should be the same for 48 hours in order to assume i am ready
Is it normal for the fermentation to take so long? The temperature is about 20 degrees constant

Thanks

UKSkydiver

Brew-ha-ha
Supporting Member
Reaction score
You will probably get some better / considered / more exprt opinion, but let me have a bash.

If it's still bubbling, there is a very good chance that the yeast it still working on the sugars and producing CO2. I would say most of mine are done from day 10, but equally, I have had a couple of brews that have gone over 14 days, just let it carry on.

Conversely, the lack of bubbles also does not prove that fermentation has completed. I don't know what equipment you have, but assuming a plastic bucket type fermenter, they are often not fully airtight, so gases can escape via means other than the airlock when fermentation is still active.

Using a hydrometer is the best method of establishing when fermentation is complete; I normally take reading on days 11, 12, 13 and if they're all the same, fermentation is complete. If your airlock is still bubbling I'd wait 3-5 days before doing this.

chthon

Landlord.
Reaction score