Muntons yeast upgrade needed?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pfeffer

Regular.
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to brewing and one of the kits I bought was a muntons belgian style ale kit. As it's for 21 liters, it's a fairly expensive kit (two cans).

http://www.muntonshomebrew.com/belgian-style-ale/

1421763813-30308800.jpg

It's made with "Saison" yeast blabla, but now (of course after buying the kit) I'm reading that Muntons kits are quite sensitive for stuck fermentations. As I'm not really willing to risk a 37 euro kit on a stuck fermentation, I was wondering if it would be wise to toss the dried "Saison" yeast and replace it with some Wyeast WLP565. That said, I'm also wondering if it might be possible (and wise) to pick another yeast.. and if so, which one would be a nice pick for a belgian style ale? If I'd pick a "Ardennes 3522" yeast from Wyeast.

I've used wyeast 3711 french saison several times and its always been good. Ferments well and has a nice flavour.

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to brewing and one of the kits I bought was a muntons belgian style ale kit. As it's for 21 liters, it's a fairly expensive kit (two cans).

1421763813-30308800.jpg

It's made with "Saison" yeast blabla, but now (of course after buying the kit) I'm reading that Muntons kits are quite sensitive for stuck fermentations. As I'm not really willing to risk a 37 euro kit on a stuck fermentation, I was wondering if it would be wise to toss the dried "Saison" yeast and replace it with some Wyeast WLP565. That said, I'm also wondering if it might be possible (and wise) to pick another yeast.. and if so, which one would be a nice pick for a belgian style ale? If I'd pick a "Ardennes 3522" yeast from Wyeast.