My first All Rounder brew

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Libigage

Landlord.
Reaction score
Hi, I've just done my first brew in my AR. I'm doing a SOLA West Coast ipa from brewuk and recipe says use remaining hops in 2 stages as dry hops. Ist when gravity is 1020 and then the rest when it's finished. So as I'm new to the fermzilla I checked the forum and went with the following plan. Brewed on the 19th OG 1046, after 3 days set spunding valve to 15-20 psi. Day 4 (today) reading is 1016 so I have dry hopped the first half of remaining hops. The only way I can currently dry hop is to release the pressure (activity went crazy when releasing the pressure) and open the lid and throw them in and then purge. As they are whole leaf they are just sitting on the top but they have a few days to get something in the brew, trouble is the final dry hop is only for 4 days so I don't want them sitting on the top as I won't get the full benefit. I've seen that people use magnets and hop bags, does anyone use these
Screenshot_20220123_154802_com.android.chrome.jpg

Or can anyone point me in the right direction for hop bags and magnets please

Does your fermzilla have the yeast dump/catch pot on the bottom? I have seen someone add the hops to that and purge it with CO2 using a carbonation cap on each of the valves on the catch pot. Then you turn the valve and the beer drops into it and in exposed to beer to the dry hops.

This is the video where he does it. Look around 11:40 to see the second hop addition using the bottom pot.

Does your fermzilla have the yeast dump/catch pot on the bottom? I have seen someone add the hops to that and purge it with CO2 using a carbonation cap on each of the valves on the catch pot. Then you turn the valve and the beer drops into it and in exposed to beer to the dry hops.
I'm using the fermzilla all rounder