My Second beer - yet to be brewed

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

subnetix

Reaction score
Hi,

So after my first recipe, I am going to make my second attempt on Lemon Drop IPA.

I have altered the hops used;
70g Lemon Drops AA 5.2
25g El Dorado AA 13.3
30g Wai-iti AA 3 (I’ve tried this in my last brew of a different style, but think they could work here)

I am also going to add 1.25 kg of sugar after initial fermentation in the primary.

Full details here:

https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/660959/lemon-drop-ipa

Let me know what you think!

Thanks!

Hmm..I'm no expert but....are the IBU high for the abv? I'd be more inclined to bitter with the Dorado using less and keep the lemon drop for dry hop or hop stand.
I take it you're going to add the sugar for the last part 15minutes? of the boil? That amount may dry the beer out.

Hmm..I'm no expert but....are the IBU high for the abv? I'd be more inclined to bitter with the Dorado using less and keep the lemon drop for dry hop or hop stand.
I take it you're going to add the sugar for the last part 15minutes? of the boil? That amount may dry the beer out.

You’re probably right about the IBU, it might be perhaps better for me to reduce the El Dorado - the are my buttering hop anyway in at 90mins. But a little less would probably be better!

The lemon drop I was planning on doing in the last 10min, then dry hopping at a couple of different points with wai-iti.

I’ve done an experimental brew between my first and now, in which I pushed the limits to what I could for ABV, 10.6% (had to add extra yeast). My concern and reasoning for the later addition of the sugar is that I’ve read yeast can get lazy. Is that something you’ve experienced yourself, or would you still say it’s wiser to go with the boil?

Thanks for the response!

Why add the sugar?