new homemade winemaker

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

susanne

Reaction score
Hi again. Logged on a couple of days ago to ask for help about my 2 1 gallon demis. They have been fermenting for 8 days and had kind of slowed down for the past 2 days. I have used fresh grapes/concentrate juice. 1lb of sugar to the lst gallon and 1 1/2 sugar to the 2nd gallon. Being a novice, I have used bakers yeast! I have steralized everything and today because i could not see any bubbles in the airlock, even though in one of the containers there is loads of frothing going on and the 2nd container still have fermentation going on with showing in the airlock. I then drained both off carefully through gauze and refilled in the pet demis. I had a tiny sip of one of them and noticed it was extremely strong. This is the one with more concentrate. In the other I have added 1/4 tsp of Youngs yeast and stirred.

Basically now, I have not a clue what to do. Need your help.

8 days is fast, even for the temperatures we've had lately. I'd say just wait. Maybe add some real wine yeast to the one that doesn't have any - the baker's yeast may not be able to reach wine levels of alcohol, and may not give the best flavour.
Do you have a hydrometer? When you really really think it's given up, take a sample and see if it's down to less than 1.000. Drink the sample - you can't put it back in, it's contaminated.
1.5lb sugar isn't much, unless there's at least another 1/2lb in the grapes and concentrate. So maybe it /is/ done, but only about 10%
Has it cleared?