New member seeking advice!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rickyE93

Reaction score
Hi All,

I’m very new to the home brewing game. Been wanting to get on board for quite some time so last week I picked up all the basics from Wilko to start a brew.
I went with the Wilko Cerveza lager kit. Followed the instructions which suggested to wait 4-6 days before adding yeast. Not sure why, most instructions on here suggest you can add the yeast when you start.
when I opened the lid to the FV, there was a foam on the top. Is this normal without adding yeast?

i took a sample and done an SG reading and got 1.032 @22celcius.
I have now added the yeast and plan on leaving to for at least two weeks before opening again.

any advice/comments on what I have already done would be great!

Hi Kelper,

thanks for your reply!
Ah I’ve read that differently to you. They’re the same instructions.
I read it as after 4 to 6 days add the yeast and then wait 4 to 6 days!

anyway it doesn’t matter now but will add the yeast at the start for my next batch! Thanks :)

The instructions are badly written, I can see how you read them! Your OG (original SG of 1.032) is low. I think you didn't stir it well enough to dissolve all the gloop! But leave it now, as the sugary stuff will dissolve itself.

Last edited:
Ok, I thought the 1.032 was low. We will see how it comes out in a couple of weeks. I’ll make sure to give it a better stir on my next batch!

I do like an IPA... that may well be the next batch. Do you just follow the instructions in the can or did you change anything?
for my Cerveza I did 500g of light spray malt and 500g of brewing sugar

I use dextrose. I leave it in the FV for at least two weeks until the Sg is steady for two or three days.

Great, thanks! I’ll give it a go once this batch is done. Thanks for your help :)