New to Brew

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

godfrey

Landlord.
Reaction score
Hi everyone !

I am new to home brew ( well apart from the time when I had a go at a boots beer kit may moons ago ) my impatience on that occasion gave me a bad first experience, but that is a different story :-)

I have been brewing now for about a month, it all started with the elder in my garden, after filling the fridge with cordial my tree was still covered in flowers, so I thought I will have a bash at the champers I saw on river cottage a long time ago.

after reading everything I could find on elderflower champagne I decided that Hugh's recipe was not the best so I took several recipe's that i found and made my own, please don't ask for it i didn't write it down lol

I have recycled all the champagne bottles from local bars and restaurants cleaned and sterilised them all and used 29mm crown caps after bottling

the first batch of elderflower I got 28 bottles ( I have now had a few of them and they are fantastic !) so I thought to myself this is easy what can I do next ? I was speaking to my neighbour, and he has a ( triffid / florescent pink / dog rose ) in his garden, the bush must be over 15 feet high, so we collected all the rose petals and made a rose petal sparkling wine, again I have not written my recipe but we got 26 bottles out from this batch !!

I told my friend about my adventure in home brew and he asked me to make the champagne for his wedding next year, so i ordered some dry elderflowers and dry rose petals and made another 58 bottles of fizz that will be hidden away for over a year until his wedding day.