No fizz!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thesteve

Reaction score
Since I started brewing I often have an issue with a lack of fizz in my beers and I am starting to wonder if am I doing something wrong when I wash and sterilise bottles. I normally wash them out with a bit of fairy liquid then rinse then sterilise using VWP after which I rinse twice. Should I be allowing them to dry - would that even make a difference?

Apart from that, I follow the priming levels on the Brewers Friend calculator. I have tried both adding the sugar directly to the bottle and also by making a small solution to add to the bottling bucket but it is very hit and miss as to whether they carbonate properly. I usually keep the bottles at room temperature for two weeks before moving to the garage. Any ideas where I could be going wrong? I normally use brewing sugar for priming.

Might be worth not using the Fary Liquid, I know you're rinsing them but I was told ages ago not to use washing up liquid for cleaning anything HB as it leaves a residue.

I've seen people convey dismay at the mention of fairy liquid, though I have never had a problem washing my FV etc in it prior to a good rinse then sanitisation.

In terms of priming, it sounds like you do what I do, and mine never lack fizz. Could you provide examples of what you've bottled (total volume, quantity and type of sugar used etc)? I keep mine at 20C for 2 weeks also before moving somewhere cooler for a mont or two.
Are you use PET or glass? If glass, are you sure you're capping properly?

When you say it's hit and miss as to whether they carbonate, do you mean the entire batch, or that it is hit and miss within the batch? If the latter, I imagine that the priming sugar is not mixed in enough - do you add the sugar solution to the bottling bucket before or after transferring the beer to it?