Quickie: do I really need two packets of WLP001?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Must be nice having enough experience to draw upon that you can confidently contradict not only a popular recipe builder but also the yeast manufacturer.

I think you are missing the point, if the software says you needs two packets, then you can of course add 2 packets but at a ridiculous and unnecessary cost.
Help me out here, what should I have done? I've never used liquid yeast before and decided to follow the instructions on the packet. If there's a better way then show me, and I'll try it next time.
Twice on this thread alone I have suggested what you should do to make enough yeast for this brew and put enough by for the next time. It's an easy process with a little equipment, which you can get by without but better off with.

I am not taking issue with you btw I understand you are new to this ;)

The volume markings are another story though. I noted during yesterday's test that the notches on my B40pro aren't quite aligned with my own measurements, which were taken with a 5 litre measuring jug. Do the markings on the equipment take into account a fitted chiller? Malt pipe? Hot or cold? No idea. Mine were almost ⅔ litre out at times, which is neither here nor there when you've somehow lost six. I'm starting to wonder if I mis-counted the number of filled 5 litre jugs when prepping strike water or the HLT, but ... no. Even for me that would have been a monumental whoopsie.

The markings on the B40 almost certainly do not take into account the space in the chiller....Brewtools cannot assume that everyone has their chiller....they (if sensible) would have marked the B40 volume markings to reflect what is actually inside the B40 alone....I cannot believe they'd have done anything else.