Taprite CO2 regulator adapter and inlet pressure

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alsacebrew

Reaction score
Hello,
I’ve had enough of leaking plastic pressure barrels (I’ve been using them for over 20 years) and have decided to use corny kegs from now on and build myself a keezer. I’ve ordered a couple of kegs from England (I live in France), together with the necessary fittings etc. I decided to buy a Taprite dual product regulator (purely because it had lots of good reviews) and it has arrived from the US today. I’ve also obtained a couple of 5-kilo CO2 bottles from a friend who owns a bar here in France. All was going well until I realised that the Taprite regulator has a CGA320 threaded nut and won’t fit the French gas bottle. I’ve been searching the internet for an adapter but no luck so far. Does anybody know where I can get one? Or, do you think I can just replace the CGA320 nut on the adapter with a European one?
My second question is, it says on the gas bottles that the internal pressure is 250 bars (which is over 3600 psi). However, apparently the maximum inlet pressure for my regulator is apparently 2000 psi. Do you think I can use the Taprite regulator for these gas bottles? I have no previous experience with CO2 bottles or regulators and perhaps this question sounds a bit stupid but I would be very grateful for any information . Thanks!

I would ask the guy who owns the bar where he would get a regulator from, I would avoid trying to change the parts on anything that uses that kind of pressure.