Virgin Brewer Beware!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hopsbee

Reaction score
Howdy,

I have a basic starter set, only made one batch of samsons ale which semed to turn out ok but i have a few questions as i am keen to expand on this and make more differnet types and red wine.

Firstly,

-can i make red wine with the equipment i have got already? - fermenter, hydrometer, syphon etc
-if not, what else will i need?
-will buying a fermenter with tap make it easier? i found syphoning a bit of a faff to be honest
-how important is temperature, airing cupboard gets to around 26 degrees when heating on, 23 when not and the utility (preferred option) around 18 lowest to 22 highest, do i need a heater and place brew in spare room.

I hope you appreciate i am new to this art but very quickly becoming hooked, i don't want to throw money away on things i don't yet need.

Also, any good ales and wine kits anyone can recommend are greatly appreciated.

Thanks in anticipation.

Red wine - yes, but if you want to make a small amount you really need a fermentation vessel matching in size because headroom is bad. If you only want to make a gallon then go and buy a 5L water bottle and use that as a FV with a hole bored in the lid for an airlock, it really is the best solution for a trial run! most people buy two, one to ferment in and one to rack off to so you get clearer wine, but i've never actually had any issues sitting on the lees until clear.