Well i've now joined the dark side .

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DaveMack

Regular.
Reaction score
Took the plunge today and done my first all grain :D
I've been getting all the gear together since joining this site ;)
Started doing the brew ( Black sheep Ale ) at 11:30am and finished doing it at 3:30pm ... but i enjoyed every minute of doing it .
Well it was only a 5 gal brew ... its bubbling away in the FV like a good'un , the smell is way different from the kits i've been doing for the last 5 months , it smells so sweet , malty and hoppy ... it smells good enough to drink now :lol:
Well i'll keep you posted as time goes on with this brew , i'll be doing a old speckled hen tomorrow ... cant wait ;)

4 hours is impressive, especially for the first go. A big congratulations needed there.

It takes me 3 hours from the point the Mash is on to the the boil being finished.

Once I add on the time it takes to warm up the HLT / Mash Tun, weigh out the grains etc..

Then afterwards to cool the wort, transfer it to fermenters and clean up, I'm usually around 6 hours.

Well done for you first steps over to the Dark Side, enjoy :drink:

Welcome to the darkside there is no going back now. Enjoy your beer as it will be the best you have ever tasted.

congrats! :cheers: will be doing my first AG brew soon. just getting all the bits and pieces together to make a tun and boiler. :party:

Sean_Mc said:
4hrs well done :clap:

Any pics?

Oppps sorry ... i haven't been online since i posted yesterday , i've been busy doing my 2nd brew , i never even thought about taking pic's as i was doing it :roll:
Well here is a pic of the spent Grain and hops from todays brew ... also a pic of yesterdays Black Sheep brew in the FV , I cant get over the smell thats coming off it ... its sooooooo nice ;)

spentgrain.jpg

Blacksheepale.jpg