What to buy bulk delivery ?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

welshee

Reaction score
I am buying most of my materials for home brewing in one go if possible and to save on delivery i was wondering if there is some stuff i might as well get for later while getting a delivery from Ballihoo.
Taking into consideration i am mainly going to brew cider/lager/ale...not to bothered about wine as yet.
I have corks, airlocks, pipes, bottles and campdem tablets already.

things i am ordering :

5 Gallon / 25 Litre Fermentation Bucket With Drum Tap & LCD Temperature Indicator(already have one)
yeast
yeast nutrient
pectolase
tanin
hydrometer.

any thing i can add for future brewing.
I ask this as there is nowhere local for any brewing stuff
In anticipation many thanks.
Stuart

I am new to this myself but just as an initial though;

Hops, sanitiser and a bottle brush.

I thought i could do without the bottle brush, but after a few cider brews i have found some of the residue left at the bottom after the sediment has gone can be a pain to get off.

cheers matth just put down a bottle cleaner.
Wont bother with the hops just yet going to start with kits etc first.

Be a good while till i get that advanced. :?:

Are you bottling or kegging?

If bottling:
You may want to get a crown capper + crown caps and bottles (you can also just source the bottles from local pubs)

If kegging:
Budget Barrel with S30 valve. If you have nowhere local though, I'm not sure how you're going to get the gas.

Or you could get cornies. They actually work out to about the same price in the long run, but have a larger initial setback.

Depending on the temperature of where you intend to brew how abouts a Belt Heater.

After winter is on it's way.

Defintely a bottling stick/siphon tubing etc.
Long plastic spoon.