Beginner experimentation

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi brewers.
So I'm very new to brewing and I find I understand a hobby best when I experiment. I have a plan and would be great if I could get you lot to tell me if I'm about to make a fatal error.

I plan to buy a 40 pint brew kit (undecided which one but it will probably be an IPA) and mix it up in a 25L bucket. I then plan to split the mixture between 5x 5L demijohns.

This will then allow me to experiment with adding different hops, yeasts, sugar amount, temperature, and all the other stuff we do when we brew up the good stuff.

In my mind this is going to give me 5 different yet delicious variations of the same beer however my imagination often exceeds my ability.

I already have all the equipment needed for this. I'm only looking to use dry hops and malt kit. No fancy boiling etc.

Any (aka as much as you can be bothered to type) advice would be greatly appreciated. I would love the following questions answered.
1. Am I being a moron for trying this?
2. Anyone done this before?
3. Should I be focused more on different yeasts or hops?
4. What's the best quantity of yeast/hops for a 5L demijohn?
5. Go on. Be honest. Am I being a moron?

Cheers in advance of the copious and insightful advise.

Someone said "a clever man learns from his mistakes, but a smart man learns from others mistakes" or something very similar.

It wasn't me, sadly, but I think he was a brewer.

Why not decide what you want to make and let us help you with some recommendations /recipes/tips etc.

That way, the maths suggests you will end up with more and better beer, that will make you grin. 👍🏻👍🏻

Probably some ancient greek guy.