Will this grain mill do?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
i have taken the plunge and ordered one of these on the assumption of others knowing what they are talking about. As i am new to this home brewing but reading lots on the subject how would i know when i have the correct setting on the miller for best grain results. Just love this forum so informative

You see my metal cover doesnt fit properly so I have to shield mine as bits go everywhere!! maybe i should try taking mine apart or something.

You see my metal cover doesnt fit properly so I have to shield mine as bits go everywhere!! maybe i should try taking mine apart or something.

On mine the split pin that holds the 2 grinding wheels together fouled the metal cover to the extent that I had to saw quite a bit of it off. Works a treat now.

Main thing I found now my pale malts are home ground on brewday is that my fgs have plumetted. So I now have to use much less PM to end up with the same OG. This means that I now get 6 or 7 23L brews from a 25Kg bag of grain compared to 5 from a bag of crushed.

i have taken the plunge and ordered one of these on the assumption of others knowing what they are talking about. As i am new to this home brewing but reading lots on the subject how would i know when i have the correct setting on the miller for best grain results. Just love this forum so informative

You just keep adjusting the grind untill the grain is coming out nicely crushed but not too powdery, its pretty easy.
t.gif

Mine wouldn't fit properly when I tried it fully assembled, but I loosened the two wing nuts a few turns and it slipped in just fine, so maybe try that?