Pressure fermenting

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tombo

Reaction score
Hi, could someone explain the basics of pressure fermenting to me please?

I have been lucky enough to buy a HUGE job lot of gear which includes multiple pressure fermenters, far too many for me so I will have offload some but I obviously want to try them and see what difference it makes. I am not new to brewing, I have been doing that for over 40 years, on and off, but not this way and I do know it’s not for every beer style and I do have spunding valves.

I specifically want to know:-

1:- When do you put the wort under pressure i.e from the start of fermentation or do you let it get going first, if so for how long?
2:- How much pressure do you need and how much is too much?
3:- I know they can be used at higher temperatures with no off flavours but is there a rule for the yeast being used i.e if the max temp range of a yeast is up to 22C or 28C etc do you just go to the max or can you go 10%, 20% etc higher?
4:- Any other things I should know?

Also does anyone have an idea what the fermenters might be worth when I come to list them please? They are a mix of 35 litre fermenter king snubs and 20 litre fermenter king juniors all are like new and all have pressure caps.

Thank you for any advice

Last edited by a moderator:
I can't help with most of your questions, what i do know is pet pressure fv's have a shelf life i have 2 all rounders they say 2 years max, which i suppose covers them if one goes off so, after 2 years you can bin it take a chance or use as a normal fv, fermenting i let my brews get going then apply 8psi, if for instance i am using us-05 yeast i will set temp at 20c,