Brewferm, Diablo

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LeffeFan

Reaction score
Decided to have a go at home brewing so popped down to my (very) local home brew shop. This kit caught my eye mainly because it was Belgian and strong. I got it home with all the stuff and eagerly set to work with my dad who did home brew in the 70s and was keen to help out. Being a total beginner I followed the kit instructions to the letter and left it to begin fermenting.

The next morning it was fizzing away and all signs looked good. I monitored the SG over the next few days and bottled it about 10 days later. I put some sugar in each bottle and capped them.

Two very long weeks passed and I decided to crack one open to try it. I was quite disappointed. It tasted flat with no real strength of any flavour. I clung to the knowledge that most beers get better with age and hoped it would improve.

3 more weeks passed and I bravely put a bottle in the fridge. I cracked it open and was amazed at the difference. Fizzy, a creamy head that stayed the whole glass and really flavoursome (had a Heineken after that just tasted like water). Only tried by one mate so far who said he would be "happy to pay for that in the shops."

I have put away (stored at Dad's) the remaining 3 ltrs in the hope it gets even better. ABV was spot on 8% as stated on the tin.

I know I have nothing to compare it to but I was very happy with my first ever home brew kit.

Reward comes to he who waits as they say?! I'm starting my first brews for 20 years myself when everything arrives next week (forgot to take into account the bank holiday...!) so it's good to hear patience bears benefits.

BTW, your comment about Heineken tasting watery made me smile, I'm not surprised after an 8% ABV beer!

Chris

Started this kit 20/04/12

500G brewing sugar
added 8 litres of ashbeck mineral water