advice for new brewer- muntons cerveza

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CarstenBrau

Reaction score
Hi guys, this is my first post here so I'll keep it short and sweet. I am still quite new to brewing (have made 3 batches that all turned out pretty good) however this time I went for a Muntons Cerveza kit as I've booked a holiday home for mid June and need some clean, session summer brew. I used 1KG of Light DME and Muntons premium gold yeast and it's been fermenting at 20oC for 3 days now. This is my first batch using a lager style kit with an ale yeast so my 3 questions are as follows: -how long should I leave it in the primary fermenter - how much table sugar should I use for batch priming -how should I condition my bottles? I have 5 weeks before the holiday and would greatly appreciate any useful advice! Cheers, Carsten.

If its an ale yeast you just do everything as per an ale - but using a bit more priming sugar for a lager style fizz. 140g - 150g table sugar for 22.5 litres is more than enough if batch priming for bottling at 20°C. Thats 6.5g of sugar per litre (3.25g per 500ml bottle) which will give a fizzy pint - nice out the fridge, bit too fizzy if serving warmer.

Everything else is as per an ale (2+2+2) typically 2 weeks primary fermenting, then prime and bottle, 2 weeks in the warm after bottling to carb up, then move somewhere cooler if possible for 2 weeks before sampling.