Back in the game...

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Varnish

Reaction score
Not on the game.....that story's for a different forum.

After a few years away from brewing I've decided to have another go.

I started a Black Rock New Zealand cider kit on Saturday (recommended by the lady in the shop). With 1 kilo of sucrose. SG ~1.035

I'd always been disappointed with previous brews. They had always been tainted with a very strong, very oblivious plastic taste.
After sticking my head in the fermenting bucket (30+ years old, belonged to my father) I think I found the problem. So a new bucket was bought, along with new seals for the king keg.

Questions:
Has anyone got experience of this cider?

Would it be worth using apple juice - apple juice/sugar mix instead of just sugar for priming/second fermentation?

I work in the food industry and can get all kinds of less common sugars for nothing. Why is dextrose better than sucrose, and is there anything else I could use?

I've read on here that the king keg is useless if I was a fizzy drink. Do you think it could be modified to hold a carbonated drink? I think my Dad's old pressure keg is in the loft somewhere. I'll see if its serviceable.

Sorry for all the questions
Varnish

Look what I found:
100_0795.jpg

Seems to be in quite good nick. Anyone know where I can get a tap for less than £40?

Try one of the forum sponsers i'm sure one of them will sort you out :thumb:

EBay FTW:
100_0798.jpg

100_0799.jpg

100_0800.jpg

SG is at around 1017. It's certainly taking its time :hmm:
I won't rush it, I'll rack it when its at 1006.

I let my Sister try some of the cider last night.
She said it tasted like manky water and had no alcohol innit!

I was rather offended, as I thought it was perfectly acceptable.
I don't know if its a case of me being blinded by the fact it's my brew, or if my sister has no taste.