Best Fermentors

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Urbangoose

Reaction score
Morning brewers

I have been brewing now for a couple of years and regular brew a couple of 30l batches each month distributed to circa 20 individuals in support of local charity fund raising. I have noticed recently that my plastic brewing buckets are looking past there best and thinking of splashing out into new better quality fermentation vessels. I don’t have C02 capabilities (all beer is bottled and empties collected and recycled) and given the price of yeast haven’t harvested (and no current plans to) ... just sending if anyone has any recommendation?

Thanks all

The “normal” plastic buckets are probably as good as any if you aren’t pressure fermenting.

Having said that, I have one of the Spiedel fermenting barrels and would recommend it because I think it’s great. Easier to clean than a normal bucket and seems to be less susceptible to staining/scratches.

Last edited:
I agree with @MickDundee. I've got a couple of 30l and a couple of 20l Speidels, but I tend to do the primary fermentation in 3 "7 gallon" buckets I got decades ago from Hop and Grape when John and Patsy ran it. They're scratched to burglary, got bits of scale that I can't remove and they still work perfectly. Each cleaned with dilute bleach after each brew. Change your buckets if you must, but you probably don't to for another few years.

I make home made wine as well as beer and use the plastic wine fermenters for rhe beer. Smaler hole in the top but who cares. I wrap it up with a quilt and bung it in the corner.