Brew kettle/stock pot contamination?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lucus_j

Reaction score
Hi all,

Had a little bit of an accident; a bottle of no-rinse sanitiser (not sure what type) broke and spilled in my stainless steel brew kettle/stock pot and sort of corroded it. I've rinsed, scrubbed & boiled a ton of water in it.

Question is, has it become irretrievably contaminated? Should I bin it and buy a new one?

I've zero knowledge of chemistry but obviously don't want to waste a a brew or worse poison myself!

Would welcome some clear, non-poisonous advice from someone with relevant knowledge.

Thx!

Your pan has, as you say, been corroded by whatever was in the sanitiser. Its probably pitted it or etched the surface of your pan. Whatever damage is now done but its not contaminated. Rinsing and boiling should have removed any trace of the chemical and should have passivated your pan in the process. But if its heavily pitted you might consider replacing it, especially if the metal has thinned a lot. If its light pitting however I wouldn't worry about it.

Your pan has, as you say, been corroded by whatever was in the sanitiser. Its probably pitted it or etched the surface of your pan. Whatever damage is now done but its not contaminated. Rinsing and boiling should have removed any trace of the chemical and should have passivated your pan in the process. But if its heavily pitted you might consider replacing it, especially if the metal has thinned a lot. If its light pitting however I wouldn't worry about it.

Thanks for the quick reply - very reassuring! ☺

There's no pitting as far as i can see, more like etching, as you say. The photo makes it look like residue but i hasn't come off with wire wool scrubbing.

Seems sturdy and safe to use athumb..

Thx again!

Attachments

• IMG_20200811_181301.jpg
    IMG_20200811_181301.jpg