Brewing a similar beer to Brewdogs 9.2% IPA???

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daveb

Reaction score
Hi am not new to home brew..i have brewed many wines for as long as i can remember, but i am very new to the world of home brewed beer...

I love the many new special craft beers and attention to taste, Usually higher Abv's and lots of hops etc....in other words i like full bodied rich, aromatic hoppy beers as opposed to the usual boring run of the mill supermarket offerings...

There are a few exceptions...one that i particularly enjoy is Brewdogs 9.2% IPA...its not perfect by any means but i would love to be able to brew something similar..

Now here's the problem..i have NEVER brewed beer using dry ingredients like grains or hops...only ever canned kits...What i would like to do is buy 2-3 cans of liquid malt extract maybe in a recognised kit style for IPA..then add my own hops to achieve a taste and full flavoured high Abv imperial IPA style beer...so for 5 galls i could purchase 2-3 IPA liquid malt kIPA kits and add my own hops to improve the aroma and taste....

Is this a feasible or realistic option as i dont really feel confident at this early stage to start using PROPER grains and malted barley etc.....

If i could create an Imperial IPA beer around 10-12% Abv what would be the best way forward using canned malt, the best yeast, hops etc etc...any advice or help would be very very much appreciated guys...thanks..oh i would be bottle conditioning it in my newly built up collection of Grolsch bottles....thank you.

First off I will state that I am an AG brewer so cannot really advise on which kits would best to use in this experiment.

There is a thread on Brewdog Hardcore IPA that might be worth a read before you get going.

Aleman has done a lot of the legwork for you in his cloned Hardcore recipe so we know the hops that are required.