Brewmaker Pilsner Lager

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AlunsAle

Reaction score
Planning to start a Brewmaker Pilsner Lager tomorrow and would like some advice. Should I use the yeast that came with the kit, or I have a Muntons Premium Gold Active Yeast spare. Also should I use a Munton Light Spraymalt, Muntons Brewing Sugar or Muntons Beerkit Enhancer ? I plan to make about 35 pints. I am new to home brewing and would like to get off to a good start so am greatful for any advice....Alun

I've not done that particular one, but the only Brewmaker kit I have done was undoubtably the worst kit I've made :-(

Those kits are made by Muntons and, along with many of their other branded products such as Wherry are know to stick, so definately change the yeast
http://www.muntonshomebrew.com/other-products/other-branded-homebrew-kits/

I'd also brew it with spraymalt or enhancer, and brew it short to 35 pints as you suggest.

Hi,

I've got that kit lined up next, started my brewing adventure last night with Coopers European lager/BE2 and after a good start found that I used too much hot water and under estimated how long it takes for the FV to cool down, ready pitch the yeast. So after waiting hours I pitched at 21 degrees with the kit yeast (lager yeast) and some Saflager S23 straight into the FV.

Now in my brew fridge cooled down to about 13 degrees (took about 5 hours apprx. to reduce temperature). I hope it works ok and it wasn't too hot. I'm using the Coopers FV so will also be interesting to see if the Krausen collar works ok.

As Darrel says,swap out the yeast (that's a must), use brew enhancer or spray malt (another must). A hop tea if you can and maybe a dry hop as well. As you've got the kit give it a good shot and you'll certainly end up with a drinkable beer, I'd imagine that once it's conditioned it won't be bad at all.