Cyclists.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chippy_Tea

Administrator.
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score
Being a truck driver in the lakes can be frustrating especially in summer when tourists are everywhere, cyclists can be a real problem in the narrow lanes but being a considerate driver i always give them plenty of room and many wave (no not with clenched fists) or shout thanks as i pass leave them plenty of room (which for any cyclist reading is appreciated), when i see pictures like this it makes my blood boil too may impatient drivers on the road only thinking about themselves..

Cumbria Police
@Cumbriapolice

Here are some stills of footage sent to us by a cyclist in which a motorist doesn’t give sufficient room.
Luckily the cyclist wasn't injured.
Remember - give a cyclist or other vulnerable road users at minimum 1.5 m
#2WheelOperation

1617818196606.png

I don't cycle but I run outside and it's the same thing. I run against traffic so I can see what's coming at me. The elderly are the worst. They would rather hit me than cross over the center line to give me space. Just today an old woman almost hit me because there was oncoming traffic and she couldn't be bothered to slow down, let it pass, and then move around me. Just blew right past me a couple feet away. They often get the 1 finger wave from me.

Used to cycle on the roads a lot but had to walk home from work last year as someone had been knocked off their bike on the SDR. Put me right off ever since I had to walk past the crime scene.

Really don't understand people's problem with it. Riles me when I hear people saying "one less on the road".

I cycle, and have been clipped before by wing mirrors, slammed by the sides of transit vans, overtaken only to have the car then shove it's brakes on and slow down causing me to take avoidance actions, over and over again.