Double IPA recipe advice

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andyhawkins

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I am pretty new to home brewing having only started FG in December after a couple of less than successful canned kit experiments.

After my Summer Lightning clone which I am currently brewing, I would like to have a go at a mad double IPA, but would like some input, if anyone would be so kind.

I have a few questions with which I need help! I am looking for a massive hop nose when I pour the beer out (similar to the effect of a brewdog beer!)

Recipe:
23 litres
Pale Malt - 8Kg
Carapils – 500g
Dextrose – 1.5kg

Hops:

Amarillo
Cascade
Centennial
Chinook
25g each for 90 mins, 25g each for 10 mins and 25g post boil.
I will dry hop in the keg with 25g of each.

OG: 1.093
FG 1.021
9.5% ABV
EBU 92
EBC 12
Mash Eff: 65%

Total Liquor 36.8
Mash Liquor 21.3
All water treated with campden tablets and CRS. Mash adjusted using burton crystals, mash pH target 5.2

What yeast should I consider using – I am looking at Wyeast 1056 American for the job as I have good success with Wyeast with my other brews(but have not tried this one).

Does anyone recommend any other yeast such as Safeale US 05 as a better yeast for the job? I am looking for a really hoppy, slightly dry beer with low diacetyl.

Would I notice much difference between dry over liquid yeast cultures? I say this as I used dried yeast with my Wherry cans and it tasted pretty awful!

Also, does anyone think there will be sufficient run off with which I can make a further party Gyll so I get a BOGOF? I always like the idea of free beer!

Any help would be much appreciated!