Fermentation is happening in a fractional recipe.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lehmann

Reaction score
Hi, This is my first batch, yes I am a beginner making beer! I bought at The Range shop the MYO Beer Stout (Irish Stout - Beer - Instructions - How To).

I am having some doughts it the fermentation is really happening once the airlock is stopped.

I put my bucket in my cupboard, the temperature there is from 19 to 22 deg. I don't believe will get 25oC never!

This kit is for 30-liter bucket, however, I wouldn't have space for the huge bucket (and I don't need 40 bottles at once), thus I bought a 5 liters bucket (it came with an airlock bubbler) and so I fractionated the recipe.

I make all the calculations to have the same proportion of the ingredients and amount of beer will be producing....... So I am doing 1/6.7 of the original recipe, so the yeast is just 2g (almost a dessert spoon).

The bucket I bought ( Search: 1 result found for "Fermentation Vessel - 5 Litre Bucket with Grommet & Airlock" ) has airlock, which I am really sure is not leaking, once I touch the bucket lid the water moves at the airlock, its amazing sensible.

I can't see any bubble from the fermentation in the airlock, I am not sure if: fermentation takes a while to start, the room is too cold, the 2g of yeast is not enough, I might have measured the 2g wrong once my scale was not happy with a so small number.

I don't want to lose all the work, can I add more yeast? would destroy the beer taste? It has been in the vessel for only 20h so far.

I have a digital laser thermometer and looks like the temperature in the vessel is 0.5oC hotter than in the surroundings. I believe it's the only good news I have.