First Attempts at Making Wine

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

doofus

Reaction score
Hello, this is my first time brewing and my first time on this forum.

I currently have two batches of plum wine fermenting.
As this is my first time, of course I did absolutely no research on wine-making other than to make sure all equipment was clean and sterile and to find a couple recipes that I could combine to suit what I had on hand.
So at some point, I will have to pick up a book and get some real wine-making knowledge.
But really we had a plum tree dumping kilos of fruit on the ground which brought hordes of wasps and made life unpleasant in the garden.
Rather than throw all these away, my wife made loads of plum jam and I dusted off my yet unused christmas gift, a beer making kit to brew up some plum wine.

As a first attempt I really just want to make something palatable that will get us sauced while hoping to avoid a bucket full of rotting, moudly mess.

Now, let me post the two recipes for the batches I'm making and then I have a question (with more to follow, I'm sure).
Please note that the recipes are a patchwork of a few recipes that I found while searching on the internet for plum wine recipes.
The recipes have been altered to match what I actually used in my batches. I have not omitted any ingredients.

Vat I: "Cherry" Plum Wine
This recipes uses some wild, cherry-sized plums. They were collected off the ground and frozen.
Before adding to the fermenter, they were soaked in warm water for 10 seconds (on handful at a time) which made them easy to skin and easy split to remove the stones.

- 3.5 qt. water
- 1 lb plain white sugar
- 1 lb plain unbleached sugar
- 3 lbs. forzen wild “cherry” plums
- 1 Campden tablet
- 1/2 tsp. pectic enzyme
- Champagne yeast

1. Boil water and sugars