Heather ale - extract recipe?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Calistan

Reaction score
Hi all! After some travelling around Europe I'm back home and ready to get back into brewing (hope to progress to all-grain by the end of the year). I'll be going to the homebrew store tomorrow so I thought I'd ask for some recipe advice before.

What I have in the cupboard already:

Brew at Home LME 1.5kg
Munton's Malt Extract Dark 1.5kg
Warrior Hop pellets 100g
Admiral Hop Pellets 100g

33L fermenting bucket and another 5L BB fermenter. I'll probably buy another fermenter tomorrow, a 10L most likely which I'll probably use for the heather recipe.
15L pot in which to boil.

I'm still very new to extracts. So, I really want to try something with heather, whether it's gruit or not, but I haven't found many extract recipes online. Has anyone tried the Guardian recipe below? Or recommend something better for me to try? I don't think I'll be able to find any yarrow for instance. And I think I'll limit my brew to something small like 5L or 10L to see how it turns out.

https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/wordofmouth/2011/aug/03/viking-heather-beer-recipe

Heather beer

125g heather tips (softer green parts of the plant, with the flowers if possible)
30g dry heather twigs (to provide tannin)
60g yarrow (the feathery leaves plus the flowers if possible)
30g dried hops
1.8kg honey (the nicer the better, but cheap honey will be absolutely fine)
1.3kg malt extract (Edme SFZ or similar – from a home-brew store)
500g crushed crystal malt (home-brew store)
1 tsp dried carragheen (Irish moss)
1 sachet of ale yeast
25 litres of water