Hello from me

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BennyBB

Reaction score
Hi, just joined the forum, I'm from south Wales, and a complete newbie.
I've just started my first ever brew of elderflower fizz.
Would love to get into brewing beers, particularly weissbiers like Erdinger.
also looking to give turbo cider a go

Hello bbb. Used to live in South Wales in the 80s. Brains SA was my favourite-delicious in Cardiff, but not so good by the time it had travelled to Swansea.
Weissbiers are a good place to start with AG, especially in the summer, as you don't have to worry overmuch about temperature or (obviously) clarity. The key is to use the right yeast. I'd recommend l'allemand Munich Classic as a starting point.
All the best.

Weissbiers are a good place to start with AG, especially in the summer, as you don't have to worry overmuch about temperature or (obviously) clarity. The key is to use the right yeast. I'd recommend l'allemand Munich Classic as a starting point.

What sort of equipment will i need to be brewing weissbier?

What sort of equipment will i need to be brewing weissbier?
Same as any other other all grainer unless you can get hold of some wheat malt extract (expensive). I'll get back to you on this as I'm busy brewing and bottling. Others may chip in.

You need to have some idea of what you're doing and I would recommend you get Greg Hughes' book Home brew Beer £12. 95 on Amazon and give it a good reading. Lots of great recipes, too.

but to answer your question: what sort of batch volume are you thinking of, to start with, and will you be doing it on the cooker, in the kitchen?

Last edited:
BB what equipment do have?
Well, 2 fermenting buckets, a spoon, some air locks, filters, funnels, hydrometer, siphon, sanitizer and a few chemicals. So nothing really lol.
I've been reading about BIAB and the bigger systems "grainfather" etc,