Help! I think im obsessed! Whats your homebrew story?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I started brewing around September of 2021 and have since brewed probably around 30 times. Starting out with a Coopers 86 Days Pilsner kit and (things quickly escalated) to moved on to BIAB All Grain brewing based on a somewhat cobbled together system. I don't typically adjust my water profile (I'm in SUFFOLK, but for some reason my water seems to work pretty well unadjusted for most styles - for me at least). I think one day, I'll progress to RO machine and a much larger (read: more professional) setup, but for the time being I'm happy just experimenting and brewing (some) great beer I really enjoy.

For me, at the moment that's mostly either pilsners or American Pales/IPAs.

That's, me...what about you?! What's your homebrewing story...

Around 2012 I started encountering Saisons very occasionally locally or at beer festivals, then and a friend organised a twitter related day of Saison appreciation under the hashtag #supsaison getting bars and bottle shops involved, I was hooked. Over the following year I was frustrated with the scarcity of this style. Having discovered that the local craft brewer started out as a homebrewer, as it never crossed my mind that all grain brewing could be done at home, I started getting the gear together to have a crack at brewing. Thinking, IF I could brew a Saison half as good as Dupont it would fill gap in drinking the styles that I couldn't buy regularly. Which is pretty much what I do now, given the market saturation for soft, hazy, new world juice bombs and confectionary stouts.