Help with finding a turbo cider recipe

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jack135

Reaction score
Hi all,

i’ve made 2 beer kits previously and now want to try a simple cider.
I don’t like fizzy ciders very much, i prefer a scrumpy type.

So my main question is, what’s the best turbo recipe for me to follow that is on this site?
I don’t want anything too overly complicated as I’m still learning and only have a basic set up.
Or are all turbo ciders fizzy?

Did have a look around on the forums and couldn’t really find what I was after.

thanks!

Would anyone know if missing the priming stage would lower the alcohol volume? Or is that all done before priming? I still don’t fully understand the alcohol part of brewing haha

No all the sugar has already turned into alcohol the little sugar you add to prime is just for that purpose and doesn't alter the ABV

Last edited:
No all the sugar has already turned into alcohol the little sugar you add to prime is just for that purpose and doesn't alter the ABV

Chippy - I thought adding 3-4g of sugar for priming gave up to .5% alcohol increase?

Been reading thru the TC threads/topics tonight.
Now before I embark upon the basic TC recipe - I like a medium sweetness cider, how do I get some sweetness back in the mix? I read somewhere to add artificial sweetener of some kind? - after the fermentation?
I plan to batch prime it prior to bottling.
Can I use ale yeast or champagne or is there a good yeast for cider?
TIA

Been reading thru the TC threads/topics tonight.
Now before I embark upon the basic TC recipe - I like a medium sweetness cider, how do I get some sweetness back in the mix? I read somewhere to add artificial sweetener of some kind? - after the fermentation?
Can I use ale yeast or champagne or is there a good yeast for cider?
TIA