How much Yeast

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kay Stöger

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm still a beginner and found a Heineken recipe in the Grainfather app that I would like to recreate. But I'm unsure about the quantity.
For a finished brew of 23 L, here is the amount of yeast:
Select Code: W-34/70 with 5 packets given.
Can this be?

Thanks in advance for the answers
Screenshot_2023-04-24-08-53-16-818_za.co.digitlab.GFConnect.jpg

Hello everyone,

I'm still a beginner and found a Heineken recipe in the Grainfather app that I would like to recreate. But I'm unsure about the quantity.
Can this be?

Thanks in advance for the answersView attachment 84788
That seems way over the top. Normally a single 11g sachet is fine for a 23L batch (but I don't brew lagers)

4 packets should be enough - you can work it out yourself using one of the online calculators Yeast Pitch Rate and Starter Calculator - Brewer's Friend

You do need more yeast for lagers - ideally around 400 billion cells in this case. You could probably brew it with less but it would take longer and you'd be in danger of stressing the yeast and encouraging off-flavours.

The general consensus is one pack is not enough with Lager yeasts if you are fermenting at the lower end of the temp of the yeast.
Most brewers would recommend 2 packs of yeast which should be enough
The manufacturers/sellers of the yeast recommend 1 pack for 10/15 litres so 2 will be enough

Hello everyone,

Can this be?

Thanks in advance for the answersView attachment 84788

It's all about your pitch temperature. The colder your pitch temperature the more yeast you need to pitch from the outset.