IPA partial extract - Green king export clone help

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

themose

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

My first post on here, so here goes.

After around 6-8 different extract kits Ive decided to try and start adding my own hops.
The kind of beer I'd like to try and get near to is Green King's IPA export.
I want to stick to a partial extract recipe if possible

I'll take a shot in the dark here and propose these ingredients below as a starting point. Please bare in mind though I'm new to this game and I'm asking for your advice and suggestions - especially for hop amounts and boiling times

1 Can of Coopers Amber Malt Extract 1.5kg
Challenger hops
First gold hops
Danstar Nottingham Beer Yeast
Muntons Beer Kit Enhancer

Am I going to be on or off the mark with this guys ? ? ?
Please let me know

Cant see any problems with that , though you might want to substitute the enhancer with spraymalt or another can instead . The enhancer , IIRC is just glucose and spraymalt anyway . You are less likely to get that old homebrew wine-y taste if you use the sugars from malt rather than from , well....sugar .

Thanks for that Shocker.

If I were to do 23l,
then how much spraymalt would you recommend 500g, 1kg?
Also Light spraymalt or dark?

hi themose, im still new to this too but when using dried malt instead of sugar i'm told to use g for g and i think its about 1kg of dried malt equals about 750 g of extract liquid malt . i think thats right its just what i've read etc .only use sugar for priming . Hope that helps :cheers: p.s dark or light is mainly about colour of beer ( i hope thats right too )

I had a look around and found this for the standard GK IPA....

40 pt Brew
Pale Malt 3500gm
Crystal Malt 350gm
Chocolat Malt 5 gms

Standard 90 Min mash
Boil time 75 minutes

Challenger 30 gm @ 75 min
First Gold 20 gm @ 90 min