Keg washer with 15mm pipe?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Looking at building a keg washer using a 400w pump I have handy. Many guides seem to use 22mm pipe, but the cost of the bits in screwfix etc is significantly higher. Would 15mm make that much difference? I'm even thinking that the water pressure will be higher through the narrower pipe, so maybe better than 22mm rather than being a compromise?!
I have a rotary 1/2" bsp spray ball coming from amazon for the main spray head, and will also have a 3/8 John Guest line connected for a couple of disconnects to put on keg posts.
Any tips for those who have done those before? I'll likely do a little 'how to' post as I stumble my way through!

Hi I’m no expert and am expecting to be shot down in flames by those in the know. But something in the back of my mind says that 1 meter of 22mm pipe will hold more than twice the amount of water than 1 meter of 15mm pipe and bearing in mind you will get less frictional losses in 22mm pipe you will get a greater flow rate with 22m than 15mm hence the reason why kitchen taps and hand basins are 15mm and a bath is 22mm in the UK. How that equates to using a pump as opposed to gravity is above my pay grade 🙃
BTW I have a KK washer and that uses 22/25 mm pipe

Just to say for your plan of tubing.
Double the radius of the tube and the flow rate will increase by 16 times, ie proportional to the 4th power.
So a 2mm diameter tube will have flow 16 X less than a 4 mm diameter one. The radius is only increasing from one to two mm.
This applies for laminar flow of fluids so water reasonably close.
This is not to say that your 15mm tube won't be sufficient.

I went with 22mm!