lager making kits

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

robbie1710

Reaction score
Hi people.

I want to make a quality, fizzy, crisp lager using a kit not the ingredients as im a newbie and still finding my feet.

ive made two so far but one was a youngs lager kit that came in a begginer kit with equipment and i also made a wilko cerveza.

Now both of these turned out ok, but they are flat and can leave a bit of an after taste. drinkable but deffinitly got a cheap home made taste.

I Kegged these and know that bottling is the way to go however Ive read for lagers they need to be done with lager yeast and at a very low temp. now this is difficult for me as we are now coming into summer and I dont have the space or equipment to lager my lager at the really low temps it needs.

Does anyone have any suggestions or tips as im sure many Novices who like lager rather than Ale, stout or any other beers have this problem like me?

Thanks for looking and for any help.

That homebrew taste can be removed by adding 1/4 of a campden tablet to the water before brewing with it.

Most of the lager kits come with a ale yeast rather then a lager yeast, so what you're really making is an ale that tastes like a lager. The Youngs kits, in my opinion, aren't the best, try one of the Coopers kits, the Canadian Blonde is pretty good as is the cerveza. The Coopers Euro Lager does come with a lager yeast so is best brewed in the winter.

The kits don't need lagering but they do need time to condition, a month or two should be enough for most kits that come with an ale yeast.

If you want something lagery, simple and without the temp control and real lager yeast then the two kits from Better Brew are superb. I've done them both and was very impressed.