My first brewery... I've got cabinets now!!!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

calumscott

Regular.
Reaction score
As it's only going to be a month or two until I get my megashed, it's probably a good time to start to build, at least in theory, my new AG brewery. Well, SWMBO is busy planning interior design and spending theoretical money so I should to right? :thumb:

I'm going to need a lot of input with this because I want to get it right, I want to build something that I really enjoy using because that way I'll brew more and better beer I reckon. Here's where my head is:

I've been brewing kits now for 6 or 7 months and have had some really great successes. I've just about bought a new house with plenty of space and a lovely big shed with power already installed. I've been thinking I need to go to the dark side for a little while now and was going to go BIAB in my tiny kitchen but put all that on hold when we decided to move. Basically what I want to do is build a fully functioning but simple and expandable AG brewery from day one, so no HERMSes or anything really clever, just a simple system that I can fire up, brew and clean down and leave ready for the next one.

I've already decided that I'm going to go gas for water heating and boiling, simply because I'm a charcoal BBQer and sometimes, to do something a bit swish on the outdoor cooking front, a gas ring for making sauces and stuff is proper handy, two birds one stone.

Q: Should I be going propane or butane for my burner? There doesn't seem to be a lot to separate them price-wise...

My "phase I" build

The setup I think I'm going to use is a 50l stainless pot which I will convert myself to use as both HLT and boiler. I'll add a tap and a sight glass which I'll mark off in handy half or quarter litres.