New to Brew from Portsmouth

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrannBrew

Damo Brann
Reaction score
Hi all, I’m new to brewing and live near Portsmouth, UK. Forgive the long post, this is my story.

This forum has helped a newbie so much, it is a great resource.

I don’t have much space at the moment for anything more than a few buckets as even though my wife bought me a starter kit for my recent birthday I am conscious that she wouldn’t want this new hobby to envelop the place.

My first kit I’ve just bottled was Wilkos Golden Ale, which after a pint or so of tasters last night after bottling I was very delighted with the outcome, I do like the Real Ales and IPAs but find sometimes the Ales from pubs can be abit hit or miss for my tastes. I would be very happy if I ordered and paid for a pint, this was even before conditioning.

I must say though I found the bottling process abit tricky, siphoning to another bucket for batch priming was fine and quite therapeutic watching it but then into bottles was where I came to problems, it took a good 90mins+ to bottle 13 swing tops and 2 Tap a drafts.

I ended up causing a bit of a mess on the floor and having to restart the siphon a few times, which I was concerned about with any contamination that it causes. I almost had a cry, as I had done so much research into things before hand, it wasn’t going as I wanted or expected and wanted it to just go right.

My wife came back in from work, giving me a hand with the last few bottles, she saw I was in a state with some puddles of beer around me. “There’s no use to crying over spilled beer” is what she said.
Some of the bottles aren’t as full as others, I have a Tap a Draft bottle in the fridge I’ll be hooking up for the weekend.

I just hope the in 3-4 weeks that the bottles are ok and I haven’t caused anything to effect the beer.