New to home brew - heating?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phillsmit

Reaction score
Hi i am very new to this as a have been given a lager starter kit for christmas.

I tried a wet run last night and struggled to regulate the temperature.
I was thinking of buying a £30 thermostat heating mat that regulates between 22 and 27 degrees C.
I thought this would be the simpliest for a beginner as it didnt need sterlising or maintaining as it had a stat unlike the belts.

My query is about the secondary fermentation. I will be doing this in plastic pet bottles. It says to keep the temperature above 18 degree C during secondary fermentation. I assume this also has an upper limit? would this be about 27 degrees?

Would it be a good idea to put a tray on the heating tray that i'm thinking of buying and put the plastic bottles on this? or is 22-27 degrees not suitable to secondary fermentation? (you can not change the stat on the mat)

If that is not ideal how would you suggest maintaining over 18 degrees in the UK winter?

Does the kit say 22 to 27? That's higher than most wines and at least some beers are usually done. I thought most people did 21 or below.
I use a 10 quid aquarium heater to keep a waterbath at 20 and stick my fermenting vessels in that.

Even with modern insulated hot water tanks, most airing cupboards are still warm enough.

How warm do you keep your home? It's probably enough, especially if you wrap the fermenter up in some sort of insulation (big fluffy towel if nowt else) - the process gives off heat and will help keep the temp up. If it does get cool it'll just slow the process down, as long as it doesn't get really low, like 14 or under.

if the kit comes with lager yeast then a lower range is required, ale yeast is best at 19-20c i'd say, and some lagers require 9-14, my current one is fine at 14/15c but could go to 12 im told