New to set up

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnnyRobbo

Reaction score
Hello Guys and Gals.

I have a bit of a conundrum which I would like you opinions on as I'm very new to this but just know il soon be very addicted.

so 5 years ago I started buying my converted stockpots, I got my HLT and my thermo Mash Tun, both 70l and ended up injured at work. Long story short, 2 back operations and both shoulders operated on put me out of playing with boiling water for a few years. Well I consider my self back fighting fit and been in contact with my supplier for my brew kettle but this is where my problem lies. He mentioned these new all in on electrical systems such as the brewdevil and the brewzilla.

I'm now stuck on weather to go for the brewzilla 3.1 35l (after endless hours of research and videos) or just stick with my origional plan form 5 years ago and get the stockpot.

Also I hope to brew higher ABV beers once I finally get the hang of things such as imperial IPA end Imp stouts and I've heard you can't really achieve this with the 35l brewzilla. Does anyone know if this is true as I'm struggling to find the 65l on the UK. This makes me think my origional plan was the one to stick with.

Really appreciate any help on this and your views.

Thank you
Robbo

Why don’t you save some pennies and use what you’ve got as a two vessel system?

Welcome Johnny. Sounds like you've been through the wars and brewing your own anaesthetic is a good idea. Save the dosh and stick with original idea. You can always fork out good money later on if you want.

I can get a cheaper vessel to use sparge water from and then I have a dedicated BK, just rekon I should invest in a pump and save the all-in-one system until a bollocked a good few brews up?

Are the all in one systems any good? I'm been talked into a 50l brew devil online.