Pressurised Fermentation practical use

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paulus

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I have been fermenting kits for about 8 months now and have had to put in a lot of temperature control due to having upward of 35C temperatures for 6 months of the year.
I've got the fermentation working well and then keeping the bottles at the fermentation temperature for 3 weeks to make sure the 2nd ferment doesn't add an acidic flavour.
I have read that pressure fermentation means that it can happen at higher temperatures, what sort of change does that mean?
I do a wide range of beer types and it would help to not have my cooling kit going full blast so much.
I only bottle so not looking to transfer to kegs. How does this affect a 2nd ferment in bottle with the beer already having a high gas content then going to an unpressured bucket before bottling (to add dextrose for the CO2). Is there a way to bottle under pressure using flip top and cap bottles?
Any advice much appreciated.

Hi all, I have been fermenting kits for about 8 months now and have had to put in a lot of temperature control due to having upward of 35C temperatures for 6 months of the year.
I've got the fermentation working well and then keeping the bottles at the fermentation temperature for 3 weeks to make sure the 2nd ferment doesn't add an acidic flavour.
I have read that pressure fermentation means that it can happen at higher temperatures, what sort of change does that mean?
I do a wide range of beer types and it would help to not have my cooling kit going full blast so much.