Pretty new made a mistake with crushed chocolate malt

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dowden87

Reaction score
Im pretty new to homebrew and have been brewing for about 3 months. So far all my brew apart from my first one have been a success. Ive got some Black rock miners stout that im drinking now, some raspberry and lime cider which is conditioning in the keg that tastes lovely even though its not ready. Also a coopers ipa which i made with 1kg of spray malt its been in the keg for about 2 weeks and it tastes amazing and theres a nice head on it which stays right to the end of your pint.

Today i thought i would try experimenting i bought a John Bull best bitter kit i added 250kg of sugar a jar of malt extract and i also bought some crushed chocolate malt. I dont know what made me do it but i added the crushed chocolate malt into the fermenting bucket with boiling water when making the brew. Now im left with the bits floating around. Im going to let it ferment then im planning on using to some fine cloth to catch all the bits when syphoning into bottles.

Do you think this will effect my brew and will it still be ok? :cheers:

I don't think the Chocolate Malt is likely to do it any good.

Chocolate Malt is not sterile, and should only be used pre boil or sometimes during the boil, it may well introduce some infection into your brew.
You may be lucky and get away with it though.

I'd be more concerned with the 250Kg of sugar you have added, a quarter of a ton is a lot of sugar ;)