recipe confusion

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BLACKPAINT

Reaction score
Hi All!
I started brewing using kits last year and I am now making the leap from kit to Malt Extract. I have carefully put together all the equipment, sourced the ingredients and read the relevant books. I have chosen my Ale 'Big Lamp Bitter' and using the recipe from Graham Wheeler Real Ale Book I was ready to go last night when I fell at the first hurdle, the recipe.
After meticulously recalculating the quantities (I am starting with a 1.8kg tin of malt)There is no mention of sugar or yeast. Earlier in the book it explains when to add them and that the cane sugar has been substituted for invert sugar but no mention of quantities. So do I just assume the quantities are as per a kit i.e 1kilo sugar per 25litres of wort and 5g yeast?

I am sure I am missing something that is staring me right in the face, as the book is highly regarded and in it's third addition.
best regards

The big lamp bitter recipe doesn't call for any sugar - just pale malt (in this case LME) and some crystal malt to steep.

Yeast won't be added until you have completed the boil and let the wort cool down to pitching temperatures.

Hope that helps.

Also noticed how much LME you were using. If you really are looking at doing a 25ltr brew length then the required amount of LME is 3170 grms - or about 2.25 litres.

What method are you using to brew this? How big is your pot to do the boil? Are you boiling the hops in a smaller amount of extract to counteract the loss of efficiency you would have in a pot smaller than the intended brew length?

If you are doing extract brewing you shouldn't need sugar.The only reason you add sugar to a kit is that there isn't enough malt in the kit in the first place to keep down costs.