Rhubarb Wine Help

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Muddydisco

Landlord.
Reaction score
The Mrs wants to use the Rhubarb out of the garden and the time is drawning near for some of the first crop. I need help with how to make it????
Having spoke to the great wine expet ;) He tells me this...

Pick it young, 3 lbs to the gallon + 3 lbs sugar. Chop rhubarb into 1cm slices. Cover the base of your bucket with dry sugar, chuck in the rhubarb and cover with the rest of the sugar. That's it, no water. Leave for 24 hrs and the sugar will have drawn the juice out. Strain that to a DJ. Rinse the pulp with a couple of pints of cold water, strain that to DJ. Repeat rinse, strain, top up DJ to base of neck, add yeast & nutrient.

Anybody made this or has any other points to add to his recipe?
This is my first time at trying to make wines out of stuff that doesn't come in a carton :lol:

2kg Rhubarb
1.2kg Sugar
Pectloase
Tannin
1tsp Yeast Nutrient
1tsp Acid Blend or citric acid
I tend to use Youngs super wine yeast
Chop the rhubarb into chunks and put into a bucket.
Pour the sugar over the top of the rhubarb and leave for 48 hours.
All the juice will drop out of the rhubarb, you may have to stir it a couple of times.
Strain the juice into a demijohn, top up to about seven pints with cold water add the rest of the ingredients and leave in a warm place to ferment out.
After a few days when the vigorous frothing subsides, top up to the shoulders of the demi john with cold water.
After about two weeks all the bubbling will have stopped, syphon into a clean demi john and add:
one campden tablet and 1 potassium sorbate tablet.

This is the recipe I'm following

I made a couple batches of rhubarb wine last year

viewtopic.php?f=40&t=3364