Saaz hops quantity?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Greenhorn

Regular.
Reaction score
So my first AG is nearly ready to bottle and already tastes flippin awesome. For my second, I'll be using the same ingredients but in different quantities, as a comparison and to use up my first grain order.

Now I'm planning my AGs ready for summer drinking (three so far. getting ahead of myself?), one of which is a Bohemian Pilsner as seen on BYO.com. The hopping schedule, halfed for my 10L batch size ends up calling for about 100g of Saaz hops. Which does seem an awful lot. Is this right?

I've used the calculator on brewer's friend and everything matches up regarding AAUs and the total IBUs etc. I know that Saaz has a very low AAU content, but it still seems a lot of hops for a 10L brew.

As a newb, I'm a bit unsure. Should I just trust the calculator?

Well for the full 19L you need 134g of hops so changing the batch size to 10L you need 70.53g according to brewmate

Btw what is your water like? For a pilsner you need extremely soft water bicarbonates at 0-30 ppm/mg per L (this might not mean much to you). Seeing as your only doing 10L unless you have very soft tap water I'd just use bottled water. Use Eden Falls from Asda (I use this for my bitters) which has a bicarbonate value of 30. Tartanspecial says Waitrose bottled water is good but most bottled water from supermarkets has quite a high Alkalinity

I got the higher amount of hops from the fact that HBS lists the current Saaz AAU as 2.4% rather than 3.5% which is what brewer's friend has them down as.

I was planning on mixing my fairly hard water with 75% distilled.