Sourness after 3 weeks in Fermenter? help?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ansys

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm a bit new to this whole brewing thing. My first "kit and kilo" type batch came out alright, so I thought I'd give it another go...

I brewed up a wheat beer.
It bubbled away nicely and after 8 days in the fermenter, I took a gravity reading. It read about 1.010, so fermentation was pretty much finished. I tasted the sample and it tasted good enough and tasted like a wheat beer should. It wasn't going to win any awards but it was on target.

Everything I've read before said that leaving it longer in the fermenter would only help things like clarity, taste, etc... so I left the beer in the primary fermenter for a total of 3 weeks. Same like I did with my first batch that turned out OK.

When I went to bottle after these 3 weeks, I took another gravity reading. Again about 1.010, but this time the sample had a very noticeable "sour"? taste (my palette is probably not subtle enough to distinguish it much more finely than that). I could no longer notice the "wheat" flavors of a wheat beer! After having cleaned and sterilized all those bottles, I went ahead and bottled it anyway hoping that some time in the bottles would bring it right again but.... what happened?!

Is it an infection? The brew didn't look like it had anything nasty on top like the images you can find on google.

Does it just need more time for the yeast to "clean up" after itself and get rid of the sourness? If so, why did it taste fine after 8 days in the fermenter?? Is that "normal"?

They've only been in the bottles for a bit less than a week now, so haven't sampled any since bottling.
Every other thread I've found online, where people had a similar issue, hasn't been followed up, so I never got to find out if they came right after some time in the bottles...