Starting a new brew, all help and advice greatly received

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hale

Reaction score
Hi all, just wanted to introduce myself as is the custom of these forums though I am new to a brewing one. My name is Matt and have always loved drinking good ale especially local ones but also trying out new ones too. My brother had been brewing for a couple of years and I've loved the results on every occasion especially the one he's working on right now! I've been to a couple of CAMRA beer fests locally here in Dorset which have inspired me to get off my bum and start brewing myself. I've been bought many lovely books on the subject and now it's time to put theory into practice! My brother and brother in law have produced some great beers using the premium malt extract kits so this is where I will start too. I have borrowed my brothers fermenting kit and aim to purchase a pressure barrel this week as the kit is in its way in the post ad I type! I have a science background which I hope will be usefull both to myself and fellow brewers who may have a question or to that I may be able to help with. The kit I ave purchased is "Di and Danny's golden ale kit" which seemed to have fantastic review plus it comes with a bag if dried hops which other similar kits did not. Really looking forward to getting started and would very much welcome any advice you seasoned pros may be willing to give. chat soon!

Matt Hale

be super cautious about sterilizing and cleaning, it can really screw up your brew if not!

I find the least annoying method is to let fermentation finish, add finings and clear in the primary FV, then what you're dealing with is almost clear beer, ready to keg or bottle.