Strawberry Sparkling Wine

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beanhead

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've mainly done kits in the past and this is my first attempt at doing anything from scratch. I have some fresh strawberries hand picked which I froze a few weeks ago, plus everything else I hopefully need, but I'm worried I might get the steps wrong and/or measure it out incorrectly.

Wondered if I could get a few pointers?

Ingredients:

- 2kg Fresh Strawberries (frozen)
- 7 ltrs Pure White Grape Juice (not from concentrate)
- Raisins (how much?)
- Lemons (how many for acid)
- Pectolase (how much?)
- Campden Tablets
- 2 kg Brewing Sugars
- Strong Tea (Tannin)
- Lalvin Champagne Yeast

I'm hoping to do the following;

1. Leave strawberries for 24 hours mixed with 1 kg sugar to bring out juices
2. Mash whatever's left, pass through fine straining bag into bucket.
3. Add grape juice, lemon juice (acid/citric), pectolase, tannin, campden tablets and leave for 24 hours
4. Make yeast starter in tepid water, yeast nutrient and yeast; add to FV
5. Leave to ferment.
6. Start to bottle once reaches destined gravity

My question is how much campden, acid and pectolase should I go for?
What is a good SG to make a 12-14% wine?
When should I start to bottle to keep it sparkling and ferment in the bottles?

Phew!

Apologies for all the questions, any help much appreciated!

Beans.

Right,

Have everything now, should be leaving the frozen strawberries in sugar tonight to draw out as much juice as I can before moving to FV tomorrow.

I assume you're going for 2 gallons?

Strawberries can be quite acidic, so maybe only one lemon.

Raisins: Maybe 500g ? Washed (because they are often tumbled in vegetable oil to give them a pleasant shine) and then chopped or minced.

If you're going for 2 gallons you've got way too much sugar and would get an OG around 1.136