Too much yeast in my ginger beer? And other questions

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trcccp

Reaction score
Hi there. Seven days ago I prepared a gingery mix based on standard recipes and set it fermenting. This is my first attempt at home brewing.

I have been fermenting it in a 5L glass demijohn. I used a sachet of champagne yeast which was apparently suitable for up to 22L. There was so little in there and for some reason I didn't want to go to the trouble of separating it into quarters, so I dumped the whole lot in.

Do I risk ending up with a very yeasty-tasting drink? It's certainly active, and a bubble passes through the airlock every 2-3 seconds.

I don't really mind what abv this turns out as - I did take an OG reading at the start, so I'll be able to work it out somehow. Should I leave it until it stops fermenting, or maybe test a sample of it soon or just after a certain time?

dscf8815small.jpg

Within reason, you can't add too much yeast. So long as it settles-out at the end of fermentation you should be fine.

battwave said:
Within reason, you can't add too much yeast. So long as it settles-out at the end of fermentation you should be fine.

Does the yeast settle only once fermentation stops and it dies or becomes dormant?

trcccp said:
battwave said:

Does the yeast settle only once fermentation stops and it dies or becomes dormant?

Yep.

It's a bit like me - when there's no more food, I stop farting and go to sleep.

luckyeddie said:
trcccp said:
battwave said:

Yep.

It's a bit like me - when there's no more food, I stop farting and go to sleep.

There's not may web postings that make me laugh out loud! :lol:

trcccp said:
Should I leave it until it stops fermenting, or maybe test a sample of it soon or just after a certain time?