Turbo Cider Help

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tommyvb

Reaction score
Hi all, newby here and m first post

I'm new to home brewing but I know basics etc

I'm currently brewing some Turbo Cider in a demi

3 liters Asda apple juice
1 litre asda mixed berry juice
2 teabags mixed for tanning
200g brewing sugar
Yeast from local store - not An expensive yeast but is cider yeast - said on packet for 25litre
I've added yeast nutrient too
Shaken all together in demijohn

Before adding the berry juice I boiled in saucepan and dissolved the 200g sugar into that then added to Demi
I took a reading of 1.060 start

Temp is around 24degree and 1 day into ferment
It's off like a good one.. Glugging every 2 secs

My worry is my brew has big white fluffy bits floating about now
They was all sat on top like a crust but now sank and because of the fermentation they are buzzing all over the Demi
Also a white foam on top
I have brewed wines before and I've not had this white stuff

It looks like bread flakes but smaller

Is that ok and will it settle down
I have room to add more apple juice in a day or so

I have added some photographs of my concern

Will the brews be affected if you every add to much yeast - I noticed it was for 25l so I added quarter of the packet

I must state I give a equipment a very good clean an sanitize and rinsed with warm water

I hope the brew is not infected

Any info is all appreciated

Thank you

image.jpg

It looks normal to me, you want to see the state of the litre of red grape juice and berries mixed with a litre of apple juice and raspberry i have fermenting at the moment, it looks like someone has poured a cup full of cat litter into both DJ's, most of it is floating but some has settled.

232749011_0_640x640.jpg

Thanks for reply

Well glad you say it's ok. It just looks so filthy lol
Bits floating about