Two Can 'All Malt' Kits. Are they really better?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maysie

Regular.
Reaction score
I am still learning the ropes when it comes to beer brewing but have really enjoyed the brews and brewing/bottling processes that I have done so far. I am still brewing with kits and to date have always stuck with the twin-can 'all malt' kits as I have assumed these are generally better than the single can kits that require brewing sugar/spraymalt to be added.

Now I clearly have nothing on which to base my 'prejudice' against single can kits as I have never yet tried one, so what do you more experienced kit brewers think about the comparative quality of these kits?

Are the twin can kits better and if so what does 'better' really mean? More flavoured? Stronger? Smoother? Rounded?

Or am I just being an ill-informed kit-snob who has been sucked in by the marketing bumf which sells twin can kits as being 'premium'...?

I know there is a few pounds between twin-can kits vs single can + sugar/spraymalts etc, but there really isn't that much difference per pint so presumably that cant be a deciding factor when choosing one over the other. I have a couple of single can kits on order to do a comparison taste-test, but wont be able to judge the results for myself until 8+ weeks time from now when they are ready to be supped.

what does 'better' really mean? More flavoured? Stronger? Smoother? Rounded?
2 can kits offer most of what you have identified except stronger, they generally don't try to be stronger. Because the manufacturer has invested more effort in making the kit they are more flavoured, smoother and generally rounded, in effect they are very complete.